Testimonial: “Words cannot express how disgusted I am…”

“In my first year I was raped after a swap. The guys I was with were very drunk and two of them attacked me in a friend’s room. They physically held me down while they did it.

I got support from Rape Crisis, and they suggested that I should try and get something done within college about it. I went to my chaplain (the first point of contact for welfare in college). I asked about policies on rape and harassment. He told me there was none, and that something called “Dignity at Study” didn’t cover things like this. He then started asking me what I’d be wearing and how drunk I was at the time. I got angry – that wasn’t relevant to what happened. He then started suggesting I’d misremembered or made it up. “Boys will be boys,” is what he said when I told him the names of the two guys (both of them were popular drinking society rugby players). I left in tears. I’m not sure if I want to continue my degree. Now I’m the one trying to change colleges, but if that fails, I’m done. Words can’t express how disgusted I am with the “welfare providers” in my college.”

Leave a comment